Login
Past Productions

The Cherry Orchard

Thu 9 - Sat 11 May 2013 8pm
Sun 12 May, 2.30pm
Wed 15 - Sat 18 May 2013 8pm

Main Stage

Company of Ten


Widowed landowner Madame Ranevskaya returns to her country estate, which is about to be sold to pay the family’s debts. Despite her desperate financial circumstances she must learn to face up to the need for change and confront the choices that might help her save her beloved cherry orchard. Chekhov’s last play is poignant, and surprisingly funny.

Notes: there are no public performances on Monday 13 May or Tuesday 14 May. The performance on the evening of 16 May will be audio described.

CALENDAR

 August 2017
SMTWTFS
303112345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
272829303112

IMAGE GALLERY

SHARE BY:

Since its first production in 1904, The Cherry Orchard has been produced around the world. Many major directors – including Charles Laughton, Peter Brook, and Tyrone Guthrie – have directed it, each with a radically different interpretation. Whilst Chekhov intended it as a comedy, many directors (including Stanislavski) have preferred to stage it as a tragedy. Our production aims to steer a course that embraces both genres.

 

Following his productions of Three Sisters and Uncle Vanya, this will be Terry Prince’s third Chekhov for the Company of Ten. Terry has also recently directed David Copperfield for us, appeared as Prospero in The Tempest and Scrooge in A Christmas Carol.

 

Thursday 9 May 2013, 8pm

Friday 10 May 2013, 8pm

Saturday 11 May 2013, 8pm

Sunday 12 May, 2.30pm

Wednesday 15 May 2013, 8pm

Thursday 16 May 2013, 8pm

Friday 17 May 2013, 8pm

Saturday 18 May 2013, 8pm