Login
Past Productions

Suddenly Last Summer

Thu 6 - Sat 8 Jun 2013 8pm
Sun 9 Jun , 2.30pm
Wed 12 - Sat 15 Jun 2013 8pm

Studio

Company of Ten


One of Williams’ most poetic but disturbing plays. Sebastian, the only son of a wealthy New Orleans widow, dies while on holiday in Europe with his cousin, Catherine. She is so traumatised by his death that she seems to be insane, and her aunt threatens to have her sectioned and lobotomised to cover up the horrifying truth.

Please note: there are no public performances on Monday 10 June or Tuesday 11 June

CALENDAR

 September 2017
SMTWTFS
272829303112
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

IMAGE GALLERY

SHARE BY:

Michael Billington of The Guardian noted: ‘Like Tosca, Tennessee Williams’ 1958 play Suddenly Last Summer is often dismissed as a ‘shabby little shocker’.’ This is probably because it explores themes that challenge our sensibilities. Nevertheless, it is also widely regarded as one of Williams’ most beautiful and lyrical plays.

 

Brian Stewart is a writer, actor and director. His plays All In Vein and On The Tin have been performed at the Abbey Theatre. He has recently directed Under The Stars and The Father for us, both in the Studio.

 

Thursday 6 June 2013, 8pm

Friday 7 June 2013, 8pm

Saturday 8 June 2013, 8pm

Sunday 9 June , 2.30pm

Wednesday 12 June 2013, 8pm

Thursday 13 June 2013, 8pm

Friday 14 June 2013, 8pm

Saturday 15 June 2013, 8pm